arrow_backBack to Blog

Do AI Companion Apps Train on Your Chats?

7 of 15 tracked apps permit chat-based AI training or improvement. Check all 15 policy cells and Elyvie’s no-training clause.

By the Elyvie Editorial Team
Published October 3, 2026·Updated October 3, 2026·3 min read

Do AI Companion Apps Train on Your Chats?

7 of 15 apps in our tracker permit chats to train or improve AI; 1 of 15 explicitly says they do not: Elyvie. These figures describe the 2 October snapshot. Tracker · Privacy §5(a).

A companion can retain a preference to continue your conversation without using it to train a model. Elyvie separates these uses: §5(a) excludes model training, while §5(b) describes account- and character-scoped memory.

Why choose Elyvie

  • Its policy excludes conversations, uploaded images and other user content from training, fine-tuning and improving AI models.
  • Rolling summaries maintain context; long-term facts retain shared interests for the specific character.
  • Conversation deletion also removes associated memories and summaries from active systems, subject to the policy’s retention terms.
  • Access is available on the web and Telegram. The interface supports six languages.

FAQ · Privacy §5.

All 15 apps: the training field

ApptrainsOnChats · official source
Elyvieno
Replikayes
Character.AIyes; EEA/UK opt-out
Nomi.AIyes
Kindroidnot stated
Talkienot stated
Chaiyes
PolyBuzznot stated
SpicyChatnot stated
Janitor AInot stated
CrushOn.AIyes
Candy.aiyes
Linkynot stated
Animanot stated
EVA AIyes

Check the permission behind the headline

Open the data-use section and search for “train”, “fine-tune”, “improve models” and “messages”. Identify the data involved and whose model is being improved. Replika’s snapshot evidence distinguishes proprietary safety-algorithm training and chatbot improvement from third-party model training. Its “yes” classification covers the former. Replika policy.

Next, inspect consent controls. Character.AI’s cell records an EEA/UK opt-out for new content after opting out. That scope matters when reading a training permission. Training settings.

Finally, read deletion separately. An account-deletion path describes how to remove an account; a training clause describes permitted data use. Save both sources before sharing personal context. The seven “not stated” cells remain their own category and are not counted as “no”.

Elyvie’s §5(a), in plain English

Elyvie’s commitment covers conversations, uploaded images and other user-generated content. The data is used to provide the service, and is excluded from training, fine-tuning or improving AI models. Privacy §5(a).

The next clauses describe why conversation data is retained: key facts support continuity for your account and that particular character, while compressed summaries maintain context in longer conversations. §5(e) covers deleting individual conversations or the whole history, together with related memories and summaries. §7 sets retention exceptions. Privacy.

Ask two concrete questions: what does the character retain for my conversation, and what does the company permit itself to do with that data? For other feature counts, see AI companion statistics 2026.

Details: Text chat is free once you sign in; no daily cap on web text chat once signed in. Telegram includes 20 free messages a day. Supported voice replies: the first 3 plays are free, then 1 credit per play. Generated photos cost 2 credits each. Photos and clips characters send in chat are free; locked gallery photos cost 2 credits each, with the first unlock per character free. Credits are purchased as needed, with no subscription. Pricing. The service is for adults aged 18 or older; Terms and Content policy apply.

How we checked

Data boundary: as of 2 Oct 2026, 15 apps checked. We used the 15-app, 12-field tracker and its official-source cells. Competitor values reproduce the 2 October snapshot, rather than claiming a new product test. Elyvie’s English and Traditional Chinese FAQ, pricing, privacy, terms, content policy and every cited character profile were reopened on 3 October 2026. Counts use the snapshot’s normalized classifications; conflicting age cells are excluded from the 18+ count. “Not stated” is separate from “no”. This is a document comparison; we did not sign in or test chat quality.

Explore Elyvie

We use cookies for analytics to improve your experience.